

Press Release

Eritrean Political Forces Coordination Committee Launches Various Joint Political Tasks

September 17, 2020

The Eritrean Political Forces, which on 24 June 2020 issued a joint declaration pledging to coordinate their efforts to bring democratic change in Eritrea, have initiated their joint work on a number of important areas, including diplomacy, media, and mass mobilization activities. The political forces are Eritrean National Council for Democratic Change, Eritrean National Front, Eritrean People's Democratic Party, Unity for Democratic Change, and United Eritreans for Justice. The guiding principles bringing the political forces together are: (1) Protecting the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Eritrea; (2) Removing the autocratic regime with the unified power of the people; (3) Successfully transitioning Eritrea to a multiparty system of democratic governance; and (4) Submitting to rule-of-law and guaranteeing basic liberties and rights to the Eritrean people.

On July 9, 2020, in implementing the joint declaration, the Eritrean Political Forces established an eleven-person Coordination Committee. This committee is responsible for the development and implementation of a joint action plan to affect democratic changes in Eritrea. The members of this committee are: Dr. Mohammed Beshir (Chairperson), Adiam Tefera (Vice-Chair), Bluts Iyassu (co-Secretary), Idris Humed (co-Secretary), Abraham Iyassu, Haj Abdelnur Haj, Mahmud Mohammed Ali, Menghesteab Asmerom, Suleiman Sediq, Teclesenbet Teclai, and Yoseif Asghedom.

Effective on August 22, 2020, the Coordination Committee has initiated its work with the establishment of the following three task forces:

Diplomacy: - The task force is responsible for conducting a joint diplomatic mission for the Eritrean political forces. Headed by Hailemariam Tesfai, and Abel Haile as a secretary, the task force consists of representatives globally covering five regional offices: Africa

headed by Mr. Berhane Debesu; Europe headed by Woldeyesus Ammar, and Tsighehans Kidane; Middle East/Asia headed by Hassen al-Assad; North America headed by Dr. Teshome Berhanemeskel, and Kidane Tesfagebriel; and Australia/New Zealand headed by Teare Haile, and Yassin Abrahim. This task force is charged with: (1) advocating for the human right causes of our people, (2) garnering international community's support for our prodemocracy movement, and (3) advancing our goal of bring a democratic change in Eritrea.

Media: - This task force is responsible for coordinating and conducting joint media activities of the Eritrean political forces. Headed by Hanan Mohammed Salih and Teclu (Toma) Ghebreyessus as a secretary, the members of the task force include Abdulla Omar, Debessai Beyene, Dirrar Mantai, Habtom Berhane, Kewani Gebreslasie Syum, Mohamed Salih Hagos, Mohammed Berhan Blata, and Woldu Negasi. Across all media platforms, the task force will be coordinating and facilitating the Eritrean political forces, as well as other opposition and international media, to cooperatively work to: (1) expose the illegal, immoral, and unjust actions of the Eritrean regime; (2) spotlight the suffering of the Eritrean people inside and outside the country that it is due to the social, economic, and political failures of the regime in Eritrea; and (3) promote the opposition forces' struggle to defeat the dictatorial regime in Eritrea.

Mass Mobilization: - This task force is responsible for organizing and coordinating the mass mobilization activities of the Eritrean political forces. Headed by Berhane Ghebrekristos, and Germay Tekie as a secretary, the members of the task force include Abraham Tesfagergiss, Asgedet Tesfayouhaness, Bahta Hailemariam, Desbele Ghebrehiwet, Eyob Yemane Weldegebriel, Gebrehiwet Melles, Hyelom Danial, and Tiebe Tekie. It is the goal of the task force to: (1) mobilize Eritrean masses (inside and outside the country) to stand together in opposition to the Eritrean regime, (2) organize political actions to (directly or indirectly) affect democratic changes in Eritrea, and (3) coordinate a sustained political and social activities to safeguard Eritrean sovereignty and unity of its people.

The Coordination Committee will continue with the establishment of more task forces in the areas of intelligence, financial affairs, and strategic planning to further strengthen the coordinated efforts of the political forces. The Coordination Committee, which operates under the oversight responsibility of the Chairpersons of Eritrean Political Forces, is very grateful to the Chairpersons for their continuous guidance and support.

Dr. Mohammed Beshir

Eritrean Political Forces Coordination Committee